Happiness is when you stop searching for it.

If there’s one thing that I realized today, that is if you want to be truly happy, make somebody else happy instead and your happiness will follow.

For so long, I’ve been in a constant journey of finding my happiness. What makes it harder is that I do not know what would make me happy. Every now and then, I smile and laugh with my friends when we hang out together but I feel like something is missing in my life. Deep down, I know I am not as happy as I look like. I wanted to be happy. I wanted to find genuine happiness.

Little did I know that happiness is not so hard to find. It is just there, it is every where around me. I don’t even have to search for it. All I need to do is go look beyond the imperfections and instead of looking for the things that is missing, appreciate all that is right there in front of me, just patiently waiting for attention and recognition.

I realized most people are unhappy because we tend to focus on the things that is missing instead of taking time to appreciate what we have. Discontentment. That is why we feel incomplete, we only see what’s not there. But if we will look into the bigger picture, we will be overwhelmed by the fact that there is so much more to be thankful for, there are so many reasons to be happy. The thing is we try to find happiness in the wrong places. Sometimes the things we thought that would make us happy would only cause us pain, or what we thought we wanted is not what we really want.

Happiness is a choice, I’m sure you’ve heard it so many times before. Choose to be happy. Be thankful for all the little things. Learn to appreciate. Try not to focus on your own happiness, try to make someone smile today, touch hearts and you’ll feel the happiness you are searching for. Try.

Me? I’ve stopped looking for happiness, because finally, I’ve found it. I found it in the precious times I get to spend with my family, I found with a pen and a piece of paper, I found it in the eyes of my friends sparkling with happiness, I found it in their smiles and laughter when we get to spend time with each other, I found it in sunrise and a hot coffee,

I found it just when I decided to stop looking for it. And I thank GOD for giving me this kind of happiness.

🙂 Goodmorning.

Leave a Reply

